What’s the Point? 1.2 (2)

In my previous post, What’s the Point? 1.2 I looked to explore the relationship between a point and it’s frame, with the goal of creating images that did not traditionally follow the forms of a dictatorial acceptable ‘right’ image within the realm of wildlife photography. This genre follows very distinct and interesting forms, for instance some traditional aims are, being at eye level with your subject, the animal to have its’ eyes open and eye contact is even more desirable as they create more tension and emotion for the viewer. Ensuring all of these points are maintained can prove to be tricky when photographing wildlife, as they cannot be placed, or told to “look this way” to get the envisaged shot.

The point of an image is something I described briefly in my last post, however unlike the last group of photos, for this task I will aim to showcase the point in relationship to the frame and it’s surroundings.

Sticking with the wildlife theme, here are three images in which the point has a more coherent and traditional relationship with the frame, abiding by relevant forms and traditions of Wildlife photography.

POINT5
1. In this photograph, the centrally framed subject becomes the main the point of the image. This image seems static and there is little suggestion of movement, the only element with a sense of direction is the water. Tracing my eye movement I am drawn first to the Heron, then left to the yellow colours of the dying reeds and then across to reflective and rippling water. This created an implied triangular effect to the image. It’s feet are positioned straight on the horizontal line of the first third of the image, creating a linear and straight image, which is surprising to me as the direction of the water would suggest an angel of depth from the left to the right. However this is achieved by the subjects body facing me.
POINT6
2. I find this image very pleasing on the eye, as the bird is horizontally positioned centrally, but in the final third of the image vertically. I love the depth created in this image and the forward facing view of the bird is also pleasing. My eyes fixate on the bird and then work along the horizontal line of the image, almost retracing the line of vision of the bird resulting in a dynamic and interesting image.
POINT8
3. This Red Deer becomes the point for my final image, which I find confusing, because in relationship to the frame, the point is small, but seems misplaced in this image. The seemingly flat grass combined with the horizon of the land positioned above the Deer for some reason doesn’t look ‘right’ to me, however the position of the point itself, it’s field of view and position in the rule of thirds should inherit the characteristics of an aesthetically pleasing image. For some reason though, I don’t like it, but I wanted to include it to highlight my thought processes and create discussion.

 

 

Leave a Reply

