What’s the Point? 1.2

The point is the most fundamental design element. It has to be small within the frame and its position is generally more important than its form.

Part 1

1. Take two or three photographs in which a single point is placed in different parts of the frame. (A ‘point’ should be small in relationship to the frame; if it’s too large it becomes a shape.)

A point in an image is traditionally very small in comparison to the frame, and usually is displayed best on a simple or plain background. With this in my mind, my thoughts turned to birds in flight. My love of photography stems from my love for Wildlife, and the technical challenges that come with this discipline is something that really excites me.

I headed out and was lucky enough to stumble across a Red Kite near my local woods, on the hunt for small woodland creatures to get his talons in to. Photographing this bird of prey didn’t pose as many of the challenges as I first thought, as their wing movement is minimal and rather than flapping they glide and soar gracefully through the air, meaning that their speed is quite slow. This meant positioning myself and my camera was relatively easy. I was also graced with blue skies, so finding my point through the view finder wasn’t as hard as maybe on a darker day. I also benefited by using a small zoom lens, to capture enough of the bird so it was distinguishable, but also to fall in line with the brief and keep the subject small.

POINT
1. The Kite itself in this image is what I’d describe as desirable, the wings are spread and the bird is at a slight angle, it’s easily distinguished as being a bird, and it is possible to gauge a sense of movement. I love the small applications of light in this image, however subtle they highlight the features of the bird. In relation to its’ position in the frame I find it uncomfortable, being so close to the edge of the frame. The bird also seems to be moving towards the edge of the frame it is closest to, although this is not desirable, the image is dynamic and I feel a sense of animation. I do think in ‘normal’ traditions it is more desirable to see the space the bird is entering, rather than the space it is left behind. I feel if the subject had been located slightly lower and on the left of the frame it would imply more movement and create a much more dynamic image and fit to the more widely accepted forms and conventions of a bird in flight.
POINT 2
2. In this picture I find the Kite to be position in a more acceptable and traditional manor. Its position in relation to the frame seems much more coherent and pleasing to the eye. However the bird itself is not a position that you would usually associate a bird picture, I find this image to be really uncomfortable to look at, the curled, ‘mid-flap’ motion of the wings are not aesthetically pleasing. If I could take the position of the object in reference to the from this image, and combine it with the birds wing position of the first image I think this would be a more pleasing and aesthetic image.
POINT3
3. In this image you get a sense of really being beneath the bird, as the wings are spread but are also both visible. You almost struggle to understand its position. Being so close to the bottom and centrally framed, I feel like there is to much space with little meaning. There is hardly any sense of movement, and the direction is unclear. I also dislike how little light is on the bird, the stark difference the silhouette of the bird and the blue background accentuates the point, however it loses all form and structure.

Upon reflecting my images, and writing about my interpretation of the images, I begin to understand that although as a photographer you may have a desired composition or structure to an image, there really isn’t any true form of correctness. Sometimes I find the images that are considered to be ‘wrong’ more interesting than the dictatorial ‘right’ way to create an image.

 

 

Leave a Reply

