The Line 1.3 (2)

Take a number of shots using lines to flatten the pictorial space. To avoid the effects of perspective, the sensor/film plane should be parallel to the subject and you may like to try a high viewpoint (i.e. looking down). Modern architecture offers strong lines and dynamic diagonals, and zooming in can help to create simpler, more abstract compositions.

Choosing images for this particular task was difficult, and finding a subject to photograph was even more so. I had reviewed some fellow students blogs prior to undergoing this task and found a host of images that immediately highlighted in my mind, the do’s and don’ts of this particular exercise. I also noticed a continual theme in many photographs that I have tried very hard to differ from, I think this is the reason for it taking me so long to complete.

In the images I have chosen you can see one or two that work to flatten the pictorial space with success and without argument and others that have some elements of depth to them, however, I do not think the sense of depth is so strong that the case to portray the image as flat can’t be argued. For example, take the image of the bench against the wall with the white door next to it, clearly this image appears flat to the eye. The camera is positioned directly in front of the objects so no light can be used as a reference to give a sense of depth. Now take the image with the white pole on the far left and the raised levels of concrete, this image has light highlighting and shadowing different parts of the surface, which creates a three dimensional shape which does give a sense of depth, I think this is the most challenging aspect of shooting objects that have multiple surfaces. So upon reflection I think my shoot for this particular exercise wasn’t a great success, saying that I think this ‘failure’ to obtain my envisaged images has lead me to understand the concept more and the challenges it poses.

Please comment below and let me know which images you think work (if any), and which don’t (if any). I would love to hear your thoughts.

Review your shots from both parts of Exercise 1.3. How do the different lines relate to the frame?

When reading the brief to this exercise I was dismissive of its challenges and overlooked how difficult the skill is to create strong leading lines in photographs. For example the use of different lines within photographs to generate certain emotions and meaning, such as the bold statements of leading vertical lines, the sense of balance with horizontal lines and the implied lines that can be shown with hand gestures or eye positions within photographs.

After reviewing my images carefully I think my lines showcasing depth worked well, I successfully followed traditional forms to obtain the best results. For example using the rule of thirds to generate easy on the eye images that combine strong vertical and horizontal lines and capturing horizontal lines with horizontal framing. My second collection of images that are featured in this post were not my best work, however as mentioned earlier I feel like this failed attempt has made me understand the concepts of creating more abstract images using lines.

Leave a Reply

